Lab Canada

BC life sciences award recipients announced

Vancouver, BC – LifeSciences BC has announced the recipients of the 2014 LifeSciences British Columbia Awards. These awards are presented annually to recognize individuals and companies that have made significant contributions to the development of B.C.’s life sciences industry. The 2014 award winners are:

Innovation & Achievement Award: Dr. John Webb, Director, Centre for Heart Valve Innovation, St. Paul’s Hospital.

Genome British Columbia Award for Scientific Excellence: Dr. Elizabeth M. Simpson, Senior Scientist, Centre for Molecular Medicine and Therapeutics, Child and Family Research Institute; Professor, Department of Medical Genetics, University of British Columbia.

Milton Wong Award for Leadership: Hector MacKay-Dunn, J.D. Q.C., Senior Partner, Farris, Vaughan, Wills & Murphy LLP.

Dr. Don Rix Award for Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Robert C. Brunham, Head, Vaccine Research Laboratory; Professor, Department of Medicine, University of British Columbia

Emerging Life Sciences Company of the Year: PHEMI Health Systems Inc.

Life Sciences Company of the Year: Tekmira Pharmaceuticals Corporation

“This year’s recipients represent the best in our community,” says Paul V. Drohan, president & CEO of LifeSciences BC. “The physicians, researchers, business leaders and companies that will be awarded are an emblem of the vibrant and dynamic turnaround that B.C.’s life sciences industry is experiencing. In the first two months of 2014, over $163 million has been invested into our provincial biotech sector, a three percent increase over the full year of 2013. There’s a real change of energy in life sciences, and our awards dinner is a great way to celebrate the achievements of these award winners and the continued success of our life sciences community.”

The LifeSciences British Columbia Awards ceremony will take place the evening of Wednesday, April 23 at the Vancouver Convention Centre.