Lab Canada

Ontario researchers recognized for excellence in their fields

Toronto, ON – Recipients of the John Charles Polanyi Prize for 2007 were announced today by the Ontario government. The recipients are:

– Dr Quincy J Almeida, of Wilfrid Laurier University, for physiology and medicine;

– Dr Sarah Phillips Casteel, of Carleton University, for literature;

– Dr R Darren Gobert, of York University, for literature;

– Dr Naomi Matsuura, of the University of Toronto, for physiology/medicine and physics; and

– Dr Derek Andrew Pratt, of Queen’s University, for chemistry.

Each year since 1987, up to five outstanding Ontario researchers are awarded the Polanyi Prize in the fields of chemistry, literature, physics, physiology and medicine or economics. The awards are in honour of Dr Polanyi, of the University of Toronto, who was awarded the 1986 Nobel Prize in chemistry for his work in reaction dynamics. Valued at $20,000, the awards are targeted to researchers in the early stages of their careers who are planning to continue post-doctoral studies at an Ontario university.

“These outstanding researchers stretch our understanding and make a real difference in our lives,” says Dalton McGuinty, the province’s premier. “Ontario has long been home to some of the world’s foremost thinkers and innovators. Supporting their work and celebrating their success helps foster even greater opportunities and will keep Ontario moving forward.”