Lab Canada

Five researchers take home 25th anniversary Polanyi Prizes

Toronto, ON – Marking the 25th anniversary of the Polanyi Prize, five of Ontario’s top university researchers are being awarded this year’s prize in recognition of their valuable contribution to the fields of chemistry, literature, physics and physiology/medicine.

Established to honour the achievement of John Charles Polanyi, a 1986 Nobel Prize Laureate in chemistry, the 2012 Polanyi Prize recipients are: Dr. Tao Zeng of the University of Waterloo for chemistry, Dr. Alex Hayat of the University of Toronto, for physics, Dr. Aristotle Voineskos of the University of Toronto, Department of Psychiatry and Institute of Medical Science, for physiology/medicine, Dr. Darren Yuen of the University of Toronto, Hospital for Sick Children Research Institute, for physiology/medicine and Dr. Jennifer Esmail of Wilfrid Laurier University, Department of English and Film Studies, for literature.

The winners were selected by a panel established by the Ontario Council on Graduate Studies, which is delegated by the executive heads of the Council of Ontario Universities.