Lab Canada

Health Canada names new chair for Science Advisory Board

Ottawa, ON – Dr Arnold Naimark has been named chair of Health Canada’s Science Advisory Board, for a three-year term.

“Dr Naimark brings tremendous experience in the fields of medical science, administration and intellectual leadership. His knowledge and breadth of experience make him an ideal choice to guide the work of the Science Advisory Board,” said Ujjal Dosanjh, minister of health.

The Science Advisory Board was established in 1997 to provide independent advice to the minister of health on the science performed and used by Health Canada, and on a variety of departmental activities from a scientific perspective. The board consists of a chair, a vice-chair and up to 16 members who are external to the federal government and who represent a broad range of scientific knowledge, expertise and experience relevant to the mandate of Health Canada.

Dr Naimark has served on many boards, most notably as founding chair of both the Canadian Biotechnology Advisory Committee and the Canadian Health Services Research Foundation. He has also served as head of the Canadian Physiological Society, the Association of Canadian Medical Colleges, the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada and the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

He has a medical degree from the University of Manitoba, where he also served as professor, dean of medicine, and eventually president and vice-chancellor from 1981 to 1996. He is currently professor, dean emeritus and director of the Centre for the Advancement of Medicine at the University of Manitoba.

Dr Naimark replaces Dr Judith Hall who served as chair from 2001 to 2004.