Lab Canada

Alberta Science and Research Authority names new chair, board

Edmonton, AB – April 12, 2004 – Dr Marvin Fritzler, a board member since 1998 and professor at the University of Calgary, has been name chair of the Alberta Science and Research Authority. He takes over from Dr Bob Church who has served as chair since the organization was established in 1994. Dr Cyril Kay, Mr Stephen Lougheed, Dr Roger Smith and Dr Lorne Tyrrell have also been appointed to the board by the government of Alberta.

Dr Fritzler currently holds the Arthritis Research Chair, Faculty of Medicine at the University of Calgary. He has served as the associate dean of research and has served on a number of committees such as the research development committee and the university budget committee.

A founding member of the Protein Engineering Network of Centres of Excellence, Dr Kay is the vice president (research) of the Alberta Cancer Board. Mr Lougheed is president and CEO of Sylogist. Dr Smith is professor emeritus of economics and business economics at the University of Alberta. Dr Tyrrell is the dean of medicine at the University of Alberta.