Lab Canada

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame announces five inductees for 2007

London ON – The 2007 inductees into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame have been announced. They are:

– Dr Elizabeth Bagshaw (1881 – 1982): Despite opposition from medical colleagues and local clergy, Dr Bagshaw became actively involved in Canada’s first and illegal birth control clinic as its medical director, a position she held for 34 years.

– Dr Felix d’Herelle (1873 – 1949): Montreal-born Dr d’Herelle discovered bacteriophages while at the Institut de Pasteur in Paris in 1915. A vagabond scholar and self-taught scientist, his persistence in the face of bitter opposition was eventually recognized as laying the foundation for molecular biology.

– Dr Jean Dussault (1941 – 2003): A simple screening test developed by Dr Dussault in the mid-1970s at Laval University resulted in more than 100,000 children being saved from irreversible mental retardation due to congenital hypothyroidism. A Member of the Order of Canada (1988), Dr Dussault was also nominated for the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1982.

– Senator Dr Wilbert Keon (1935 – present): Dr Keon is known both nationally and internationally for his work in cardiology and cardiac surgery in founding the University of Ottawa’s Heart Institute. This highly specialized cardiac institution has dedicated 50% of its space to research and discovery contributing to modern prevention and treatment of coronary artery disease.

– Dr Endel Tulving (1927 – present): Dr Tulving’s theories now guide the whole field of memory research. About to celebrate his 80th birthday, Dr Tulving continues to publish ground-breaking work often proposing ideas that are controversial but backed by sound empirical evidence.

The 2007 inductees were selected by an independent committee of prominent leaders from the medical community.

“This year’s inductees have made truly significant contributions to Canada and the world. Their stories are fascinating and their contributions, whether a single meritorious one or a lifetime of accomplishments, are truly outstanding,” says Dr Alan Bernstein, president of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and chair of the CMHF selection committee. “The selection committee is gratified to be involved with an organization that pays tribute to the dedication and commitment of Canadian scientists and health professionals.”

The five incoming laureates will be inducted on October 2, 2007 in London, ON.