Lab Canada

NSERC announces $35,000 in prizes for Canada’s top science promoters

Ottawa, ON – NSERC president Tom Brzustowski has named three individuals and two groups as winners of the 2004 Michael Smith Awards national prizes for outstanding achievement in the promotion of science in Canada. Named after the late Canadian biochemist and Nobel Laureate, the prizes are sponsored annually by Science and Engineering Research Canada (NSERC).

Individual winners ($5,000 each) this year are:
Philip J Currie (Drumheller, AB) (403) 823-7707;
Sid Katz (Vancouver, BC) (604) 822-1947; and
Mark Winston (Burnaby, BC)
(604) 291-4459

Organizational winners ($10,000 each) this year are:
Canadian Association for Girls in Science (Mississauga, ON) (905) 567-7190; and
Deep River Science Academy (Deep River, ON) (613) 584-4541.

"The passion and creativity that the Michael Smith Award winners bring to the work of science promotion enrich all Canadians," says Dr Brzustowski. "Their accomplishments are key contributions to this country’s developing science and innovation culture. "

"A good understanding of science and technology is part of an essential education for all of us as citizens in today’s knowledge-intensive society," he added. "These prize winners have played an important role in fostering this understanding, by successfully capturing the excitement of discovery and innovation."

The winners will each be presented with a medal bearing Dr Smith’s likeness in a ceremony at Science World British Columbia on November 22. Michael Smith won a Nobel Prize in 1993 for his breakthrough contribution to genetic research.