Lab Canada

McGill forest ecologist selected as next SFM network scientific director

Edmonton, AB – May 3, 2004 – Professor James W Fyles, George and Frances Tomlinson Chair in Forest Ecology at McGill University in Montreal, has been selected as the next scientific director of the Sustainable Forest Management Network. The network’s administrative centre is hosted by the University of Alberta in Edmonton. Dr Fyles will commute between both locations.

The Sustainable Forest Management Network is a not-for-profit nationwide centre of research excellence under the federal Networks of Centres of Excellence Program. The program is a federal initiative administered jointly through the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC), the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) in partnership with Industry Canada. The network is a partnership involving 31 universities, 12 forestry companies, provincial and federal departments, Aboriginal groups and non-governmental organizations. It administers an annual budget of $7.1 million.

“In addition to his very strong background in research, teaching and mentoring graduate students, Dr Fyles, through helping to establish the McGill School of Environment, has a unique background in understanding the complexities of bridging the boundaries between pure and applied science, social science and humanities,” says SFM network board Chair Barry Waito.

Dr Fyles is a graduate of the University of Victoria and of the University of Alberta, where he received his PhD in soil science and botany in 1986. He was appointed assistant professor in McGill’s department of natural resource sciences in 1988, promoted to associate professor in 1994 and to professor in 2002. Active in the development of the McGill school of environment since 1996, he was appointed associate director of the school in 1998 and interim director in 2003. He was appointed the Tomlinson chair in forest ecology in 2002.

Throughout his career, Dr Fyles has chaired and been a member of over 30 university, faculty and departmental committees.