Lab Product News

Universit de Montral scientist wins the Lo-Pariseau Award

Montreal, QC – Dr. Guy Sauvageau, principal investigator at the Institute for Research in Immunology and Cancer (IRIC) at the Université de Montréal, professor in the Université de Montréal Faculty of Medicine and hematologist at Maisonneuve-Rosemont Hospital, has received the Léo-Pariseau Award from the Association francophone pour le savoir (known as Acfas).


Created in 1944 in honor of Léo Pariseau, a radiologist and the first president of Acfas, the award underscores the efforts of a person working in the fields of biological sciences or health sciences.


Co-founder of IRIC, scientific director from 2003 to 2013 and president and chief executive officer of the institute from 2007 to 2014, Dr. Sauvageau has been involved in the fight against cancer for many years. As a principal investigator at IRIC, he conducts research aimed at developing more effective therapeutic approaches to treating cancer by studying the molecular basis for self-renewal, a central process in the regulation of stem cells, whether normal or cancerous.


Over the last several years, Dr. Sauvageau has been the recipient of numerous awards in recognition of his contributions. In 2014, he was named Radio-Canada Scientist of the Year and La Presse Personality of the Year in the science category for his discovery of a new molecule capable of multiplying stem cells present in umbilical cord blood for transplant purposes in the treatment of leukemia. In addition, that world breakthrough was voted Discovery of the Year by Québec Science magazine.


“We’re extremely proud to be able to count on Dr. Sauvageau as part of the Institute’s research team,” stated Michel Bouvier, chief executive officer of IRIC. “His contributions to cancer research are exceptional, and so is his commitment to our institute. We have nothing but admiration for a man of so many talents and boundless energy, who devotes himself to the research arena.”


In addition, Michel Bouvier and Claude Perreault, principal investigators at IRIC and professors on the Université de Montréal Faculty of Medicine, were previously honoured with this distinction from Acfas, in 2006 and 2011, respectively.


The Acfas awards celebrate researchers who have distinguished themselves throughout their careers and who have had a considerable impact in their areas of research as well as on the sharing of knowledge around the world.