Lab Canada

Robarts director wins scientific achievement award

New York, NY – Canadian scientist Dr. Brian G. Feagan is among three physicians awarded with a 2013 Scientific Achievement Award by the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA).

“These physicians’ unwavering work in research is an inspiration to us all,” said Dr. Raymond Cross, associate professor of medicine, Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology and director of the Inflammatory Bowel Disease Program at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. “They will join an illustrious list of scientists whose efforts continue to push the needle forward in the quest for cures to these diseases.”

The award recipients were nominated by the medical and research community for their exceptional dedication to the field of inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD).

Dr Feagan is director of Robarts Clinical Trials at the Robarts Research Institute and Professor of Medicine at the University of Western Ontario. He won the Achievement in IBD Clinical Research Award.

Dr Theodore Bayless won the Henry D. Janowitz Lifetime Achievement Award. He is director of Meyerhoff Digestive Disease- Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center at John Hopkins Medicine.

Dr Charles Parkos won the Achievement in IBD Basic Research Award. He is vice chair and director of Experimental Pathology at Emory University School of Medicine.

“It is a pleasure honoring these physicians for not only their demonstrated commitment to CCFA, but their tireless contributions and commitment to science,” said Richard Geswell, president and CEO of the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America. “Their hard work and dedication are taking us into a new, exciting era of research.”